Cisco Certified Design Professional (CCDP) Certification

  1. CCDP Information

What is the CCDP certification?
The CCDP certification (Cisco Certified Design Profession) is Cisco's Professional-level certification designed to reflect advanced knowledge of network design, advanced routing and addressing, security and comprehensive knowledge of enterprise architectures. It is the next-level certification up from Cisco's Associate-level CCDA certification.
Who is the CCDP certification for?
The CCDP certification is aimed at senior network design engineers, senior analysts and systems engineers involved in the design and implementation of enterprise networks.
Are there any prerequisites to the the CCDP certification?
Yes, candidates must first obtain the Cisco CCDA and either the CCNA Routing and Switching or any Cisco CCIE certification.
How do I earn the CCDP certification?
In order to earn the CCDP certification a candidate must pass three exams:

642-902 ROUTE - Implementing Cisco IP Routing - 120 minutes, 45-55 questions
642-813 SWITCH - Implementing Cisco IP Switched Networks - 120 minutes, 35-45 questions
642-874 ARCH - Designing Cisco Network Service Architectures - 75 minutes, 50-60 questions

The exams can be taken in any order, although it is generally recommended that candidates take the exams in this order: ROUTE > SWITCH > ARCH.

The exams are a mixture of multiple choice, drag and drop, simulations etc, and vary in length and number of questions depending on the particular exam.
What is the passing score?
Cisco exams are scored on a scale of 300-1000. As a general indication, candidates should expect to score at least 850 points on this scale in order to pass. Typically, the number of questions and the number of scoring points per question differs from exam to exam depending on the difficulty of individual questions.
What if I fail?
If you fail any of the exams you are required to wait out a period of 5 business days before attempting the exam again. You are also required to pay the applicable exam fee again.
What does the exam cost?
The cost of your exam can differ depending on your location and/or the currency exchange rate at the time of booking, however Cisco offer a brief summary of the cost of their exams on this page. In all instances you should contact your nearest Cisco testing facility to get the current cost of your exam.
Where can I take the CCDP exam?
You can take the CCDP exam at any local Pearson VUE testing facility worldwide. Find out more about Pearson Vue here. You need to register and pay the applicable exam fee before taking the exam, and make sure to contact your local testing center early to check on exam availability and current exam costs.
Are there any recertification requirements?
The CCDP certification is valid for three years. After this time the candidate must recertify in order to remain CCDP qualified. Cisco offer a number of ways to recertify, including retaking the equivalent CCDP exams or taking a higher-level Cisco certification. A full list of the recertification options can be found on this page.