Cisco Certified Network Associate Routing and Switching (CCNA Routing and Switching) Certification

  1. CCNA Routing & Switching Information
  2. Free CCNA Study Resources

What is the CCNA Routing and Switching Certification?
The Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) Routing and Switching certification is a popular networking credential that demonstrates that a CCNA-qualified person has foundational networking knowledge with specific skills pertaining to Cisco networking products.

Who is the CCNA Routing and Switching certification for?
The Cisco CCNA is aimed at network administrators, technicians, and support engineers who regularly install, configure, monitor and troubleshoot small-to-medium sized networks. In essence, the scope of the CCNA Routing and Switching exam covers the essential network duties that network technicians and administrators perform everyday. Topics covered by the CCNA Routing and Switching exam include the latest Cisco NOS, IPv6 support, IOS licensing, security issues as well as comprehensive troubleshooting duties.
Are there any prerequisites before I attempt the CCNA Routing and Switching?
There are no prerequisites to take the CCNA Routing and Switching exam but the R&S credential itself sometimes acts as a prerequisite to higher-level Cisco certifications.
How do I earn the Cisco CCNA R&S certification?
There are two ways to earn the CCNA Routing and Switching certification - pass two individual exams or pass one larger, combined (accelerated) exam. The exam options are (click the respective links to be taken to the applicable Cisco web page):

One composite exam:
200-125 CCNA - Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices: Accelerated (CCNAX) (90 Minutes, 50-60 questions)


Two individual exams:
100-105 ICND1 - Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices, Part 1 (90 Minutes, 45-55 questions)
200-105 ICND2 - Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices, Part 2 (90 Minutes, 45-55 questions)

Although the candidate will be tested on the same subjects irrespective of which exam route they take, the two different options offer candidates a degree of flexibility in the manner in which they choose to study for the CCNA certification. By taking the double exam route, candidates can break the CCNA into more manageable chunks and take the respective exam when they feel ready. Additionally, the two-exam approach gives the candidate the opportunity to ease into the certification by taking the 100-105 ICND1 exam first (which is not as advanced in subject detail as the 200-105 ICND2 exam). Alternatively, by taking the 200-125 CCNA combined exam, candidates can attempt to gain the entire CCNA certification credential in one fell swoop and save money by paying just one exam fee instead of two.

Candidates who choose the two-exam route have three years to finish both exams in order to become CCNA qualified.
What is the passing score for the CCNA exams?
The number of questions and the number of scoring points per question differs from exam to exam. The required passing score and the number of questions you will receive for your particular exam will be displayed at the start of your exam. After you have completed your exam you will receive a personalised score report with a breakdown of section scores to help you identify areas of weakness.

Candidates who successfully pass the 200-125 exam will immediately gain the CCNA Routing and Switching certified credential, while candidates who opt for the two-exam route must pass both exams before being awarded their credential. It is important that you keep your score report safe as you will need this with any future correspondence with Cisco concerning your qualification.
What do the CCNA exams cost?
Cisco offer a brief summary of the cost of their exams on this page, however it is advised that you contact your nearest Cisco testing facility (Pearson Vue) to get the current cost of your exam.
What are the CCNA recertification requirements?
The CCNA certification itself is valid for three years after which time recertification is required to remain certified. To recertify, a candidate has a number of options available, particularly if they are going for more advanced Cisco certifications. A full list of the recertification options can be found on this page.
Where can I take the CCNA exam?
Cisco exams are proctored by Pearson VUE. You will need to register with them before you can take a CCNA exam. You can find more information about them here.
Where can I find study resources for the CCNA Routing and Switching exam?
There are lots of great training resources available (here's a list of some best sellers) but, to get you started, you can find many CCNA Routing and Switching specific study resources on our CCNA study resources page.