Cisco Certified Network Associate Security (CCNA Security) Certification

  1. CCNA Security Information
  2. Free CCNA Security Study Resources

What is the CCNA Security certification?
The Cisco Certified Network Administrator – Security (CCNA Security) certification is a job-role specific network qualification that signifies the holder has the specific skills and experience to design, implement and support networks with an emphasis on device and network security. The CCNA Security exam focuses on core networking security topics such as securing network devices, firewalls, VPN's, intrusion prevention, data integrity etc. and will test a candidate’s knowledge of securing Cisco routers and switches and their respective networks.
Who is the CCNA Security certification for?
The CCNA Security qualification is ideal for network technicians, engineers and administrators who are in, or who are targetting, entry-level network security careers.
Are there any prerequisites for the CCNA Security certification?
Before taking the CCNA Security exam candidates must first hold a valid CCENT, CCNA (Routing and Switching) or CCIE qualification. You do not, however, have to take the Associate-level exams in any particular order, meaning you can still take the CCNA Security exam even if you don't yet have a required prerequisite exam. It just means that you won't be certified CCNA Security until you pass the prerequisite exam.
How do I obtain the CCNA Security certification?
To earn the CCNA Security credential candidates must pass one exam:

210-260 IINS Implementing Cisco IOS Network Security

The exam contains 60-70 questions with 90 minutes to complete them, and the exam is available in both English and Japanese. Question types include multiple-choice (single and multiple answer), drag and drop, simulations, and fill-in-the-blank.
What is the passing score?
Cisco do not disclose the passing score of their exams, but the exams are generally scored on a scale of 300-1000. Typically, the number of questions and the number of scoring points per question differs from exam to exam depending on the difficulty of individual questions. The required passing score and the number of questions you will receive for your particular exam will be displayed at the start of your exam. After you have completed your exam you will receive a personalised score report with a breakdown of section scores to help you identify areas of weakness. It is important that you keep your score report safe as you will need this with any future correspondence with Cisco concerning your qualification.
What if I fail?
If you fail the exam you are required to wait a period of 5 business days before you are eligible to retake the exam. You must also pay the applicable exam fee again for each attempt you make at the exam.
What does the exam cost?
Cisco offer a brief summary of the cost of their exams on this page, however it is advised that you contact your nearest Pearson VUE testing facility to get the current cost of your exam.
What are the CCNA Security recertification requirements?
The CCNA Security certification itself is valid for three years after which time recertification is required to remain certified. To recertify, candidates have a number of options available including continuing along the Cisco certification ladder.

A full list of the recertification options can be found on this page.
Where can I take the CCNA Security exam?
Cisco exams are proctored by Pearson VUE who have offices worldwide. You will need to register with them before you can take a CCNA exam and you should check with them as early as possible to confirm exam availability and exam cost. You can find more information about them here.
Where can I find study resources for the CCNA Security exam?
You can find many CCNA Security specific study resources (both free and paid) on our CCNA study resources page.