Cisco Certified Network Professional Security (CCNP Security) Certification

  1. CCNP Security Information

5 Myths of Cloud Computing - HP

7 Deadly Network Security Sins: A Guide for Protection

Best Practices for Making BYOD Simple and Secure

What is the CCNP Security certification?
The Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP) Security certification is Cisco's job role specific, professional-level (intermediate level), network security certification track. It is sandwiched between the entry-level CCNA Security and the expert level CCIE Security certifications.
Who is the CCNP Security certification for?
The CCNP Security credential is aimed primarily at network professionals who are responsible for network security including safeguarding routers, switches, and other various network appliances. Also network professionals working with wireless networks, firewalls, VPN's and IDS/IPS solutions within their network. It is intended for networking professionals with between 1-3 years of networking security experience.
Are there any prerequisites to the the CCNP Security certification?
Yes, candidates must first earn the CCNA Security certification or hold any valid CCIE certification.
How do I earn the CCNP Security certification?
To earn the CCNP Security certification candidates must pass a total of 4 exams. The exams are:

300-208 SISAS - Implementing Cisco Secure Access Solutions – 90 minutes, 65-75 questions
300-206 SENSS - Implementing Cisco Edge Network Security Solutions – 90 minutes, 65-75 questions
300-209 SIMOS - Implementing Cisco Secure Mobility Solutions – 90 minutes, 65-75 questions
300-207 SITCS - Implementing Cisco Threat Control Solutions – 90 minutes, 65-75 questions

The exams can be taken in any order, and candidates should expect a mix of multiple-choice, simulation and drag and drop question types.
What is the passing score?
Cisco, as a matter of policy, do not publish the exam passing scores. Exams are scored, however, on a scale of 300-1000 meaning candidates can expect to score at least 850 points to pass. However, questions are scored, or weighted, differently depending on the overall difficulty of the question so the number of questions per exam will vary according to the weighted score of the questions.
What if I fail?
Candidates will need to wait a minimum of 5 business days if they fail any of the CCNP Security exams. After this period, and upon paying the applicable exam fee, they may retake the exam. The same stand-down period applies to any subsequent failed exams.
What does the exam cost?
You should contact your nearest testing station as early as possible to confirm exam availability as well as the current cost. A brief outline of the exam costs can be found here (the CCNP Security is a Professional-level exam).
Where can I take the CCNP Security exam?
All Cisco exams can be taken through any Pearson VUE testing centre. You will need to register before taking the exam. Check with your local testing station for registration requirements, current exam costs, as well as exam availability. Make sure you are familiar with their physical location well before the morning of the exam.
Are there any recertification requirements?
The CCNP Security certification is valid for three years, after which time recertification is required if an individual wants to remain CCNP Security certified. To recertify, candidates need to pass one of the following before the expiration date of their current exam:
  • Pass any current 642-XXX Professional-level or any 300-XXX Professional-level exam, or
  • Pass any current CCIE Written Exam, or
  • Pass the current CCDE Written Exam OR current CCDE Practical Exam, or
  • Pass the Cisco Certified Architect (CCAr) interview AND the CCAr board review to extend lower certifications
More details here.