Cisco Certified Network Professional Service Provider (CCNP Service Provider) Certification

  1. CCNP SP Information

What is the CCNP Service Provider certification?
The Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP) Service Provider certification is a mid-level networking certification aimed at validating networking skills and knowledge specific to a Service Provider environment. It is the next level up from the CCNA Service Provider certification and a prerequisite to the more advanced CCIE Service Provider.
Who is the CCNP Service Provider certification for?
This credential is aimed at network engineers, system engineers and other networking professionals who work within a Service Provider enviroment and might be called upon to implement a scalable carrier-grade infrastructure as well as support various managed services.
Are there any prerequisites to the the CCNP SP certification?
Yes, candidates must first hold either the CCNA Service Provider qualification or any valid CCIE qualification in order to take the CCNP SP exams.
How do I earn the CCNP SP certification?
To earn the CCNP Service Provider qualification candidates must pass a total of 4 exams:

642-883 SPROUTE - Deploying Cisco Service Provider Network Routing - 90 minutes (65 - 75 questions)
642-885 SPADVROUTE - Deploying Cisco Service Provider Advanced Routing - 90 minutes (65 - 75 questions)
642-887 SPCORE - Implementing Cisco Service Provider Next-Generation Core Network Services - 90 minutes (65 - 75 questions)
642-889 SPEDGE - Implementing Cisco Service Provider Next-Generation Edge Network Services - 90 minutes (65 - 75 questions)

Candidates may choose to take the exams in any order, and should expect a mix of multiple-choice, drag and drop and simulation questions.
What is the passing score?
Cisco, as a matter of policy, do not publish the exam passing scores. Exams are normally scored on a scale of 300-1000 with roughly at least 850 points needed to pass. Each question in the exam carries a particular weighted score depending on the difficulty of the question therefore the number of questions in the exam may vary.
What if I fail?
You will need to wait a minimum of 5 business days to retake the same exam if you fail any of the exams. After this period, and upon paying the applicable exam fee, you can retake the exam. The same stand-down period applies to any subsequent failed exams.
What does the exam cost?
You should contact your nearest testing station as early as possible to confirm exam availability as well as the current cost. A brief outline of the exam costs can be found here.
Where can I take the CCNP SP exam?
All Cisco exams can be taken through any Prometric or Pearson VUE testing centre. You will need to register before taking the exam. Check with your local testing station for registration requirements, current exam costs, as well as exam availability. Make sure you are familiar with their physical location well before the morning of the exam.
Are there any recertification requirements?
All CCNP certifications are valid for three years, after which time recertification is required if an individual wants to remain CCNP certified. There are a number of options available to candidates wishing to keep their CCNP Security qualification valid. You can read more on those options here.