Check Point Certified Security Administrator (CCSA) Certification

  1. CCSA Information

5 Myths of Cloud Computing - HP

7 Deadly Network Security Sins: A Guide for Protection

Best Practices for Making BYOD Simple and Secure

What is the Check Point CCSA certification?
The Check Point Certified Security Administrator (CCSA) exam is a foundation-level I.T. security certification with a specific focus on Check Point hardware/software security solutions. The CCSA certification ensures that candidates have a thorough understanding of the fundamental concepts necessary to configure Check Point Security Gateway and Management Software Blades on the GAiA operating system. As the name implies, the CCSA credential is administered by Check Point Software Technologies Ltd., a company with over 20 years’ experience providing business security products (such as firewalls, VPN security gateways, software and hardware solutions etc.) for businesses, consumers, and service providers.
Who is the CCSA certification for?
The CCSA certification is the first rung on the Check Point certification ladder and is aimed at technical professionals who install, support or administer Check Point Software Blades. Successful passing of the CCSA exam demonstrates a candidate’s proficiency in areas such as securing communications across internal and external networks, defending the network against internal and external threats, configuring suitable security policies and managing user access within the enterprise.

Typical job roles for CCSA’s might include:
  • System Administrators
  • Support Analysts
  • Security Managers
  • Network Engineers
The CCSA exam is a prerequisite for the more advanced CCSE credential.
Are there any prerequisites?
There are no official prerequisites required to take the CCSA exam, however candidates are recommended to have at least 6-12 months hands-on experience with Check Point products as well as fundamental networking, TCP/IP, Internet and OS (Windows Server and/or UNIX) knowledge.
How do I earn the CCSA credential?
To earn the CCSA credential candidates need to pass one exam:
  • 156-215.77 Check Point Certified Security Administrator
This exam consists of 90 multiple-choice and scenario questions, to be completed in 120 minutes, and candidates need to score at least 70% in order to pass the exam. Candidates who successfully pass the CCSA exam will receive their certificate in the mail within 6-8 weeks.
What if I fail?
Candidates who fail the CCSA exam on their first attempt must wait a minimum of 24 hours before attempting the exam again. For any subsequent fails the candidate must wait a minimum of 30 days before retrying. Payment of the applicable exam fee is required for each retake attempt (however Check Point often offer discounts on the retake price so check the official Check Point page on the Pearson VUE website).

Once a candidate has passed the exam they are not permitted to retake it in the future.
How much does it cost?
The CCSA exam costs US$200 but test-takers are advised to check early with their local Pearson VUE testing facility for the exact cost of the exam. Candidates should also factor in the cost of travel to and from the testing facility.
Where to take the CCSA exam
Candidates can take the CCSA exam at any Pearson VUE testing facility worldwide. Candidates will need to create an account with Pearson VUE before registering for their exam.
Are there any recertification requirements?
A candidate’s CCSA credential is valid for two years after which time it is not considered current. After 5 years the credential becomes ‘inactive’. Candidates can keep their CCSA credential current by retaking the current CCSA exam or by earning Continuing Education Credits. Credits are earned in a variety of ways such as completing approved training courses, attending conferences, participating in Check Point’s test development process, etc.