Check Point Certified Security Expert (CCSE) Certification

  1. CCSE Information

5 Myths of Cloud Computing - HP

7 Deadly Network Security Sins: A Guide for Protection

Best Practices for Making BYOD Simple and Secure

What is the Check Point CCSE certification?
The Check Point Certified Security Expert (CCSE) exam is a vendor-specific intermediate-level information technology security credential that demonstrates a candidate’s expertise and proficiency in managing and supporting Check Point security products in the enterprise. The CCSE certification is developed and administered by Check Point Software Technologies Ltd., a company with over 20 years’ experience providing business security products (such as firewalls, VPN security gateways, software and hardware solutions etc.) for businesses, consumers, and service providers.
Who is the CCSE certification for?
The CCSE certification is the second rung on the Check Point security certification ladder, after the introductory CCSA, and is aimed at experienced technical professionals who have extensive experience working with Check Point hardware and software products in a relevant job role. Successfully passing the CCSE exam demonstrates a candidate’s ability to, amongst other tasks, configure and manage Check Point firewall solutions, manage VPN’s and Internet security, understand encryption techniques and implement anti-virus and content security policies within the enterprise.

Typical job roles for CCSE certification holders as advertised on major job boards include:
  • Network Administrator
  • Network Security Engineer
  • Network Support
  • Security Administrator
  • Firewall Administrator/Engineer
  • Security Analyst
Are there any prerequisites?
Candidates must first successfully pass the CCSA exam (R70 or later) before being allowed to take the CCSE exam. For the prerequisite CCSA exam candidates are recommended to have at least 6-12 months relevant experience with Check Point security products as well as fundamental networking, TCP/IP, Internet and OS (Windows Server and/or UNIX) knowledge.
How do I earn the CCSE credential?
To earn the CCSE credential candidates need to pass one exam:
  • 156-315.77 Check Point Certified Security Expert
This 120-minute exam consists of 90 multiple-choice and scenario questions and candidates need to score at least 70% in order to pass the exam. Candidates who successfully pass the CCSE exam will receive their certificate in the mail within 6-8 weeks.
What if I fail?
Failing the CCSE exam on the first attempt means that the candidate must wait a minimum of 24 hours before attempting the retake. Any subsequent fails incur a minimum wait of 30 days before retrying. Payment of the applicable exam fee is required for each retake attempt but there are often discounts offered by Check Point for retake attempts – details found on the Pearson VUE website.

Once a candidate has passed the CCSE exam they are not permitted to retake it in the future.
How much does it cost?
Check Point exams cost between US$150 to $200. Candidates are advised to check with their local Pearson VUE testing facility for the exact cost of the exam.
Where to take the CCSE exam?
The CCSE exam is proctored by Pearson VUE, an exam testing company with offices worldwide. Candidates need to register an account before scheduling and paying for their exam and should check well in advance for the nearest testing facility location and availability of the exam.
Are there any recertification requirements?
The CCSE credential is valid for two years after which time the candidate has the option to keep their credential current by either retaking the current CCSE exam, taking the CCSE Update Exam, or by earning Continuing Education Credits.

The CCSE update exam, designation #156-915.77, tests a candidate only on the latest Check Point product release, so should be the easier path to keeping their CCSE credential current.

Continuing Education Credits can be earned in a variety of ways such as attending conferences, participating in Check Point’s test development process, completing approved training courses etc.

Failure to keep the CCSE credential means that the candidate’s CCSE status is deemed ‘not current’ and will, after 5 years, become ‘inactive’.