Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) Certification

  1. CEH Information

What is the CEH certification?
The Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) certification is a vendor-neutral, information security credential offered by the EC-Council (International Council of E-Commerce Consultants), a U.S. based organization.

The CEH certification demonstrates that the holder has a detailed and up-to-date understanding of the techniques, tools and technologies that hackers use to compromise networks and business assets and, as such, is equipped with the knowledge and expertise to counteract such invasions.
Who is the CEH certification for?
The CEH is aimed at I.T. professionals who have responsibility for securing computer networks and who wish to develop and demonstrate a well-rounded set of security skills.

Typical job descriptions include:
  • Security Application Tester
  • Security Engineer
  • Forensic Analyst
  • Information Security Manager
  • Network Systems Engineer
Are there any prerequisites needed for the CEH certification?
Candidates who forgo official CEH training programs and self-study must have at least two years of verifiable, security-related work experience and must apply to the EC-Council for permission to attempt the exam. Relevant educational achievements can be substituted for work experience by requesting dispensation on a per-case basis from the EC-Council. Candidates who undertake an official training course have no such work experience conditions.

Courses can be taken at any approved training facility or through live instructor-led courses that can be taken online. Details of the courses can be found on the official EC-Council website.
How do I earn the CEH certification?
Candidates are required to pass one 4-hour, multiple-choice exam (designation 312-50) consisting of 125 questions with a passing score of 70%. During the exam candidates can expect tasks such as deciphering exploit codes, studying log files etc.

The exam covers 19 different domains, including (but not limited to) topics such as:
  • Scanning Networks
  • System Hacking
  • Viruses and Worms
  • Denial of Service
  • SQL Injection
  • Buffer Overflow
  • Cryptology
What if I fail the CEH exam?
If a candidate fails the CEH exam they are permitted to retake the exam at any time upon paying the applicable exam fee again. Any further exam fails require a waiting period of 14 days before retrying. Candidates may not attempt the CEH exam more than 5 times in any given 12-month period.
What does the CEH exam cost?
The cost of the CEH exam is US$500, with an additional ‘eligibility application fee’ of US$100 for self-study candidates.
Where can I take the CEH exam?
The CEH exam is delivered through the following testing facilities:
  • Web based via Prometric Prime (exam designation 312-50)
  • Authorized Prometric Testing Centers (ATC’s) (exam designation EC0-350)
  • VUE Testing Center (exam designation 312-50)
Candidates who self-study for the exam will take the EC0-350 exam, while candidates who undergo official training receive the 312-50 (the exams are identical). Candidates should check with their local testing facility for exam availability and confirm current exam prices.
CEH recertification requirements
The CEH credential is valid for three years and candidates are required to participate in a continuing education program, as well as paying an annual US$80 fee, in order to keep their credential valid. Candidates are required to complete 120 continuing education credits within a three year period with a minimum of 20 credits per year.

Credits can be earned in a variety of ways, such as attending official training courses, writing research papers, taking additional certification exams, attending webinars etc.

Failure to comply with the continuing education requirements will result in the suspension of the candidate’s Certified Ethical Hacker status. Full details of the EC-Council’s CEH continuing education program can be found here.