Certified Wireless Security Professional (CWSP) Certification

  1. CWSP Information

5 Myths of Cloud Computing - HP

7 Deadly Network Security Sins: A Guide for Protection

Best Practices for Making BYOD Simple and Secure

What is the CWSP certification?
The Certified Wireless Security Professional (CWSP) certification is a vendor-neutral, professional-level credential that demonstrates the holder has the expertise and knowledge to secure enterprise Wi-Fi networks against internal and external threats. The CWSP certification is offered by CWNP (Certified Wireless Network Professional), a private organisation based in Atlanta, U.S.
Who is the CWSP certification for?
The CWSP certification is aimed at I.T. professionals who have (or aspire to have) responsibilities toward the management and security of enterprise WLANs.

Typical job roles include:
  • Wireless Network Engineer
  • I.T. Consultant
  • Risk Management Manager
  • Security Analyst
  • Wireless Security Consultant
  • Network Administrator
Are there any prerequisites needed for the CWSP certification?
Candidates must have a current CWNA (Certified Wireless Network Administrator) credential before being eligible to earn the CWSP however the CWSP exam can be taken prior to the CWNA. In that event the candidate must complete both exams before being awarded the CWSP credential.
How do I earn the CWSP certification?
To earn the CWSP certification (after the CWNA has been attained), candidates need to pass one exam, PW0-204. The exam is 90 minutes in duration and consists of 60 multiple-choice/multiple-answer questions.

During the exam candidates are not permitted to either mark a question or return to a question at a later time.

Some of the topics covered in the exam include:
  • WLAN Discovery Techniques
  • Building Robust Security Networks
  • Wireless LAN Management Systems
  • Wireless Security Policies
  • 802.11 Design Architectures
  • VPN’s
  • Intrusion and Attack Techniques
What is the passing score for the CWSP exam?
Candidates need to score at least 70% in the exam to pass.
What if I fail the CWSP exam?
Candidates who fail the CWSP exam on their first attempt may retake the exam at any time. No waiting period is enforced, but the applicable exam fee must be paid again. Any subsequent fails requires the candidate to wait a period of 7 days between each attempt.
What does the CWSP exam cost?
The cost of the CWSP exam is US$225.
Where can I take the CWSP exam?
The CWSP can be taken at any Pearson VUE testing facility worldwide.
CWSP recertification requirements
The CWSP is valid for three years. Before the expiration date of their certification candidates must either retake the current version of the CWSP exam or earn the higher level CWNE (Certified Wireless Network Expert) credential in order to keep their CWSP credential current.