ECDL / ICDL Advanced Certification

  1. ECDL / ICDL Certification Overview
  2. ECDL / ICDL Advanced

The ECDL / ICDL Advanced certification (launched in 2003) builds on the skills gained and demonstrated with a candidate’s passing of the main ECDL / ICDL certification. Before attempting any of the advanced modules, a candidate must have already passed the respective core module. It is not necessary for the candidate to have passed all seven of the core modules before attempting an advanced module - only the respective core module needs to be passed first. A separate ECDL Advanced certificate will be issued upon successful completion for each of the individual advanced modules (unlike the main ECDL certification which is only issued once all seven modules are successfully completed).

The four ECDL Advanced modules are:
  • Advanced Word Processing

  • Advanced Spreadsheets

  • Advanced Database

  • Advanced Presentation
A candidate need only pass one of the individual exams to qualify for an ECDL Advanced certificate for that module. Like the main ECDL / ICDL certification, the exams can be taken in any order and at any time.

As a certification in its own right, the ECDL / ICDL Advanced certification demonstrates to employers that a candidate has a more advanced knowledge of a particular application. Completing the advanced modules would also make an ideal stepping-stone to those candidates who wish to go on to gaining the various related MOS (MIcrosoft Office Specialist) credentials.

For more information on the general ECDL / ICDL certification, click here.

To visit the official ECDL / ICDL website, click here.