Red Hat Certified Datacenter Specialist (RHCDS) Certification

  1. Red Hat Certification Information
  2. RHCA
  3. RHCDS
  4. RHCE
  5. RHCSA
  6. RHCSS
  7. Certificates of Expertise

What is the RHCDS Certification?
The RHCDS (Red Hat Certified Datacenter Specialist) certification from Red Hat is targeted toward individuals who wish to demonstrate the skills and knowledge necessary to build reliable, available, scalable, and manageable solutions in mission-critical datacenter environments.

Who is the RHCDS certification for?
The RHCDS is aimed at experienced Linux professionals who wish to demonstrate knowledge and skills using Red Hat Enterprise Linux, Red Hat Satellite Server, Red Hat Directory Server, Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization, and the Red Hat High Availability Add-on.

Are there any prerequisites required to take the RHCDS?
Candidates wishing to become RHCDS qualified must first earn the RHCE certification.

How do I earn the RHCDS Certification?
To gain the RHCDS certification candidates must already hold a current version of the RHCE certification and then successfully pass three exams:

Core exams - must pass both:
  • EX401 - Red Hat Enterprise Deployment and Systems Management Expertise Exam (4 hour exam)
  • EX436 - Red Hat Enterprise Clustering and Storage Management Expertise Exam (4 hour exam)
Elective exams - need only choose one:
  • EX318 - Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization Exam (3 hour exam)
  • EX423 - Red Hat Enterprise Directory Services and Authentication Expertise Exam (4 hour exam)
As with all Red Hat certifications, the RHCDS exams are all performance based, meaning candidates will be tested in a ‘real world’ environment. The exams can be taken in any order the candidate chooses, but Red Hat suggest that EX401 should be taken first as this offers a good foundation for the remaining two exams. The length of each exam and the passing score varies (click on the respective links above for more information).

Candidates will be e-mailed their results normally within 10 US business days if successful. Unsuccessful candidates may retake the exam as many times as they wish, with payment of the applicable fee.

How much do the RHCDS exams cost?
At the time of writing, each exam costs US$600. Check the official Red Hat website for up-to-date information.

Where to take the RHCDS exams
The RHCDS is lab-based meaning exams can only be taken at Red Hat authorized facilities (consult the Red Hat website for information on facilities in your area) and only during specific times.