Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) Certification

  1. Red Hat Certification Information
  2. RHCA
  3. RHCDS
  4. RHCE
  5. RHCSA
  6. RHCSS
  7. Certificates of Expertise

The RHCSA (Red Hat Certified System Administrator) certification is Red Hat’s core Linux certification and is prerequisite to the more advanced, and coveted, RHCE (Red Hat Certified Engineer).

The RHCSA is aimed at candidates with previous experience of Red Hat system administration and is not intended as an elementary Linux certification. The RHCSA exam is a 2.5 hour, performance based session during which candidates are required to demonstrate proficiency on a live system. Performance-based testing means that there are no multiple-choice questions - candidates must successfully complete, on a live system, installation, configuration, troubleshooting, and maintenance tasks similar to those they would encounter on the job as system administrators.

To earn the RHCSA certification a candidate must pass one exam:
Because of the lab-based nature of the RHCSA, exams can only be taken at Red Hat authorized facilities at certain locations on certain dates (consult the Red Hat website for information on facilities in your area here). This is something that should be considered when factoring the total cost of obtaining the RHCT credential as travel costs will vary depending on where your nearest facility is. At the time of writing, the cost of the RHCSA exam is US$400.

Red Hat do offer training courses (online and real-world) to prepare candidates for the EX200 exam but it is not necessary or compulsory to undertake any formal training in order to take the RHCSA exam.

Candidates who successfully pass the RHCSA exam are considered current for three years from the date the qualification was earned and recertification is required at that point in order to remain current.