Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP) Certification

  1. SSCP Information

5 Myths of Cloud Computing - HP

7 Deadly Network Security Sins: A Guide for Protection

Best Practices for Making BYOD Simple and Secure

What is the SSCP certification?
The Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP) certification is an internationally recognized I.S. security credential that demonstrates that the holder is proficient and experienced in the fundamentals of I.S. security and best practices. The SSCP is developed and administered by the not-for-profit (ISC)2 - the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium.
Who is the SSCP certification for?
The SSCP is pitched as a ‘launching pad’ for I.T. professionals who are starting out in their InfoSec careers. Holders of the credential will have the knowledge to confidently apply security policies and procedures at an enterprise level and will have the necessary skills to utilize tools and procedures in reaction to enterprise-level security incidents.

Typical job descriptions that the SSCP certification may complement include (but are not limited to):
  • Network Administrator
  • Systems Analyst
  • Database Administrator
  • Security Administrator
  • Systems Administrator
  • Application Programmer
  • Security Consultant
Are there any prerequisites needed for the SSCP certification?
The only requirement for taking the SSCP exam is that candidates must have at least one year of continuous full-time work experience in a position with hands-on duties relating to at least one of the seven, above-mentioned, exam domains. Candidates who do not meet the required work experience requirement may still take the SSCP exam but will not be awarded the SSCP credential until they have gained the required work experience.
How do I earn the SSCP certification?
To earn the SSCP certification candidates must pass a three-hour, 125-question exam (only 100 of the questions are marked, the others being research questions). The questions are all multiple-choice with some scenario-type questions that have more than one multiple-choice question associated with it.

The passing score is a minimum of 700 on a scale of 0 – 1000. Because the scoring is scaled, 700 does not represent a 70% pass mark. For more information about the scoring process, see here.

Once the candidate has successfully passed the exam they then need to complete an ‘endorsement form’ before they will be awarded the SSCP credential. This is a simple form that needs to be signed by an already qualified (ISC)2 professional who is also an active member. The person signing the form attests to the candidate’s work history and character. The (ISC)2 can act as the endorser in the event the candidate cannot find anyone else.
What does the SSCP exam cost?
The cost of the SSCP exam is US$250 with regional variations for countries outside of the Americas. Check on the official (ISC)2 website for current exam prices.
Where can I take the SSCP exam?
The SSCP exam can be taken at Pearson VUE testing facilities worldwide. Check with your local testing facility as early as possible regarding their location, exam availability, registration process and current exam fees. The cost of travel to and from the facility is covered by the candidate.

Candidates may have to share the test facility with other test-takers (not necessarily SSCP exam takers), depending on the location and schedule.
SSCP Continued Education / Renewal
The SSCP certification is valid for three years after which time recertification is required. Recertification is achieved by maintaining the credential through the accumulation of CPE (Continued Professional Education) points, and the payment of an annual fee (US$65).

SSCP holders are required to earn 60 CPE’s during the three year life-cycle of their credential, with a minimum of 10 CPE’s per year being required.

CPE points can be earned in a variety of ways, including (but not limited to):
  • Work Experience
  • Seminars
  • In-House Training
  • Self-Study Training
  • Meetings / Seminars